Total Pageviews

Popular Posts

Follow by Email

Google+ Followers

Google+ Badge

Friday, October 12, 2012

Some Nobel Laureates In The History Exluding Winners Of 2012

*- The oldest Nobel laureate who won the prize was Russian- born American Lunid Hurwicz, he was 90 years old when he got the Nobel Economic Prize in 2007. He lived a few months longer and passsed away in 2008. *- Rita Levi Montalcini, who won the Nobel Medicine Prize in 1986 for her work on growth factors, is the oldest living laureate, she celebrated her 103rd birthday on April 22, 2012, and is the only Nobel centanarian. *- In 2007, British author Doris Lessing became the oldest author winning the Nobel Literature Prize, aged 87 when her name was announced. Later Lessing described the winning of award as "Caratrophe" as it left her no time to write. *- British Laureate Lawrence Bragg, who won the physics prize in 1919, was 25 years old when he won the prize and remains thge youngest laureate in the history of prizes. Germany's Werner Karl Heisenburg, the 1932 physics laureate was 31 when he won, while British author Rudyard Kippling remains the youngest Nobel literature laureate ever honored, he was 42 when he won the prize in 1907. *- Since 1901, when the first Nobel prizes were awarded, 44 women have been honoured, including Marie Curie twice and 786 men. The first woman to win Economics prize was Elinor Ostrom, in 2009, and only two women have won the physics prize, the last one in 1963, as compared to 180 men. *- Six fathers and sons have won the prize, but there has been only one father-daughter and mother-daughter pair among the laureates. Three married couples have won the Nobels. In each of the latter cases French scientist Irene Juliot-Curie was one of the laureates. *- Six laureates have declined a Noblel. The only two to do so of their own will were Jean- Paul Satre, who turned down the 1964 Litrerature prize, Vietnam's then prime minister Le Duc Tho, who refused to share 1963 Nobel Peace Prize with US Secretary of State Henry Kessinger. Adolf Hitler forbade three German laureates- Richard Kuhn (Chemistry, 1938), Adolf Butenandt (Chemistry, 1939), and Gerhard Domagk (Medicine 1939), from accepting the prizes, while Soviet authorities forced Boris Pasternak to decline 1958 Literature Prize. *- Three laureates were in the prison when they won the Nobel Peace Prizes, German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky (1935), Myanmar's opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi (1991) and Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo (2010). Suu Kyi was able to travel to Oslo and gave her Nobel lecture on June 16, 2012, more than 21 years after receiving the prize. *- A record 241 nominations were received for 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, when it went to Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni activist Tawakkol Karman. The names of the nomionees and deliberations of the committee are kept secret for 50 years.

No comments: