Total Pageviews

Popular Posts

Follow by Email

Google+ Followers

Google+ Badge

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Bollywood Actress, Jaya Bachchan Filed Her Nomination Papers For Rajya Sabha Poll

Bollywood actress and Samajwadi Party candidate, Jaya Bachchan filed her nomination papers on Saturday for the Rajya Sabha biennial poll, Indian media reported.
She arrived this morning from New Delhi and went straight to the Vidhan Sabha secretariat to file her papers at around 11.30 AM. She was accompanied by chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, his uncle and minister Shivpal Singh Yadav.
This is the second time that Jaya has been made SP candidate for the Rajya Sabha. Earlier, she had represented the SP in Rajya Sabha in 2002. However, after the end of her tenure in 2006, she declined the similar offer made to her by the Samajwadi Party.
Within political circle, the matter was then linked with her changing equations with the Samajwadi Party in the wake of its difference with Amar Singh, who was later shown doors.
An old friend of Bachchan family, Amar Singh was incidentally responsible for bringing it close to the SP fold.
However, Amar Singh has now become completely irrelevant after he has been unable to make his presence felt in the recently held assembly poll in the state. His bitter campaign against SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav reaped him no gains. The affidavit filed by Jaya put her net worth at Rs 48.56 crore and a net liability of Rs 47.71 crore in the form of loans from banks and financial institutions etc.
Likewise, she has stated in her affidavit that her spouse and cine star, Amitabh Bachhan has a net worth of around 101 crore and a liability of about Rs 104 crore in the form of loans from banks and financial institutions.
Compared to her, Vinay Katiyar of BJP who also filed his nomination, has a net worth of Rs 2.50 crore, according to his affidavit. With them, a total 10 candidates have filed their nominations against the equal number of vacancies. This means they will be elected unopposed and the result will be officially announced after scrutiny of nomination papers on March 22.
Based on the party positions, SP will get six seats, while BSP would get two seats. BJP and Congress would get a seat each.

No comments: